top of page
About Me

BD8 Christmas Tree Picking...

This afternoon was the day that we went to the garden centre to go and pick our Christmas tree and its always one of my most favourite days on the run up to Christmas as it means its time for the decorations to go up!! Also it makes me feel even more Christmassy when the tree goes up and decorating the tree is just the highlight of the Christmas preparations.

We have always had a real Christmas tree for as long as I can remember and have always gone as a family to go and choose it and it is taken very seriously! It has to be the right shape and be bushy enough in the correct places if that makes any sense hahaha but yeah we take it very seriously! The real Christmas trees also smell so amazing and there's all the holy, mistletoe and just the trimmings are just classic symbols of Christmas. I also feel that not only is a real tree tradition to us its also a general Christmas tradition as they never used to have plastic trees so they chopped them down themselves!!

As you can see from the pictures there are so many trees, lots of different types some are the ones that smell more, don't drop the needles and yeah lots of types with different coloured tags to identify. We always get the Nordman Fir (funny spelling i know), as these smell amazing, last well and the ones that don't drop needles too much, obviously they still drop needles but not as much! Its just part of Christmas, needles getting stuck in your socks, you know the pain!! Also you want them to last well and not be gone by the time Christmas and new year come!! That's why we never get it up on the 1st, to be honest this is early for us we usually wait a couple more days.

I also love that at the garden centre they sell Christmas decorations, wreaths and lots of cute different Christmas things. They also have a Santa that moves, tells Christmas stories and sings sometimes .He usually has a hut full of lights but this year it was a cute wooden bench/hut instead. Its kind of a tradition to have our picture taken, we all go and have a look so I couldn't not this year even though I'm 17, the boys wouldn't this year cause "there too grown up" !! I still had mine though as I love traditions and pictures to look back at!

So we have chosen our tree, it is home now and getting put up and decorated on sunday and I cant wait!! Of cause I am going to do a post on decorating the tree and the other decorations in the house when we do them so look out for that next week. Hope you enjoyed this little post, I know its nothing much but its part of our Christmas preparations so I thought I'd include it in my Blogmas.

Evie x


Hi I'm Evie, I'm 16 years old and I'm battling many chronic illnesses. Here's my blog where I'm sharing my life with the world. I hope you enjoy and also more than anything I hope this helps with awareness and understanding of a world that some have never seen!

Recent Posts
My Social Media
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

Sign up for email updates

Never miss a blog post

Name

Email

bottom of page